Posted by: Chris | September 22, 2010

Where I Stand With This Hobby

I realized that the amount of posts I have written lately have little to do with baseball cards, and moreso with the game of baseball. The reason for this, I believe, is because of my dieing interest in our hobby. Don’t get me wrong, I still love baseball cards, but I just don’t feel it anymore. If you remember I wrote a post on how I bought a box of 2004 Topps Opening Day, the nostalgic box that got me started, and after about 5 minutes I was bored to death with it.

Maybe I’m just being more selective, or maybe it’s the fact that their hasn’t been a single interested product released in over a year, but for whatever reason I have completely lost interest in this hobby. The only thing that is keeping me connected to the hobby is my Jeff Samardzija collection. Ever since Nomar retired they haven’t made any new cards of his, so I have nothing else to chase. And Samardzija has only been in 3 Topps products this whole year, so even my Samardzija collection is suffering a little.

With that being said, you can expect a slight change around here with the topics I write about. I feel like writing about the current news in major league baseball is much more fun and interesting for me then the current news of this hobby. I will still write about all my maildays and cool stuff I see on ebay, but if your visiting my site to read about all the latest hobby news, then my suggestion to you is visit a different site like A Cardboard Problem or Sports Cards Uncensored. But if you are looking for opinions and and news on players and topics happening in MLB, then On Card Autos is your place.

Responses

  1. Nice.

    moe.

  2. I kind of liked Chicle, but other than that I agree with you and even that had some bad cards in it.

  3. chicle was a cool concept, but the fact that alot of the paintings made the players look rather weird was a really dissapointing feature. The relics were cool though


Leave a Reply

Categories

