Posted by: Chris | August 22, 2010

So Long, Sweet Lou!

I’m sure most of you have already heard the news by now, but in case you haven’t, Lou Piniella has resigned as manger of the Chicago Cubs to go home and take care of his ailing mother. Former third base coach Mike Quade will take over as manager for the remainder of the season.

I really don’t feel like getting into it that much. I’m glad he’s gone and the sooner it happened the better.

The fact that they didn’t call up Ryne Sandberg to finish out the season was quite interesting to me. This says that the Cubs don’t have full confidence in Ryno to be the manager next year. Which I have to agree with. I would much rather see Joe Girardi or Bob Brenly (my first choice for the job)

But that’s another post for a later time, right now, It’s Piniella’s day.

so here’s to sweet Lou, I’m sure gonna miss you screaming at umpires and throwing punches at Rob Dibble…

Leave a Reply

Categories

