Posted by: Chris | June 18, 2010

Searching For My Dream Card

A few years ago, before I became a serious collector, I went to a card show with my dad at a nearby mall. I was in awe by all the awesome cards the dealers had and all the fresh boxes of wax to choose from. Of course I was drawn to Nomar Garciaparra and the Cubs cards people were selling, but one card that really caught my eye, ended up changing my life forever. Sicne I saw this card, I knew I wanted to start collecting baseball cards. Sure I had opened a pack or two in years past, but I never considered myself a “collector”

The card I saw that day was a triple patch card of Nolan Ryan, Kerry Wood, and Roger Clemens. I am fairly certain the card was from 2006 Upper Deck Ultimate Collection, but I’m not 100% sure. I do remember the patches on this card to be amazing looking. So many different colors and stiches. I spent at least 5 minutes trying to figure out what part of the jerseys each patch was from. Of course, the Kerry Wood patch was the sickest. (This was at the early part of the decade, when Kerry Wood was one of the most dominant young stars in the game)

The card was just amazing and I really wanted to get it. But when I asked how much money it was, the dealer said $200 dollars, and I knew it was never going to happen. I had never spent $200 dollars on baseball cards before, let alone one card.

A few years later, after becoming a serious collector with knowledge and interest in the hobby, I went to another show at the same mall, and saw the same dealer with the exact same triple patch card that got me hooked years before. It also had the exact same price as before. And I was still not willing to spend  $200 dollars on it. But I loved looking at that card.

Occasionally I think about that card. I search for it on ebay and ask about it at card shows, but i’ve never seen it since. I would give any card in my collection to own it (Aside from Nomar or Samardzija cards)

Tonight I searched for it on ebay, and found something that really caught my eye. While $100 dollars is still out of my price range, I would give anything to own this card and it would be one of the proudest cards in my collection.

Don’t get me wrong, I love collection Jeff Samardzija and Nomar Garciaparra and I usually devote all my time and money towards them, but this card is different. Its a symbol of why I got into this hobby in the first place and it reminds me of how card collecting brought me and my dad closer together, and you can’t put a price on that.

Responses

  1. The card in the picture is a 2004 Sweet Spot Sweet Threads Triple Patch #WRC Kerry Wood, Nolan Ryan, Roger Clemens /25

    Hope that helps the search!

  2. Thanks, I know its not the exact same one I saw at the show yeears ago, but the because its got those 3 guys in patch form on it makes it acceptable, not $100 acceptable, but it’ll do.

  3. thats a great story! Hope you get it one day, Ill let you know if i ever see anything

  4. Thanks Anthony!


Leave a Reply

Categories

