Posted by: Chris | May 15, 2010

Greatest Collecting Day Ever!

Today is without a doubt the greatest day of my collecting career. I have now obtained two of the most-wanted cards of my favorite current player, Jeff Samardzija. I bought the gold /50 and the orange /25 refractors of Jeff’s 2007 Bowman Chrome rookie autograph, AKA his most desired rookie card. The reason these two cards were so important to me? Well, the gold has appeared on ebay many times, but has always sold for well above the $40 dollar mark I was willing to pay, so I was extemely excited when I got the gold for a BIN of $39.00. The orange has never appeared on ebay, but I have seen two seperate ones at a card show, both with an insane asking price of $300 dollars a piece, way to much for me. I bought the orange for $50.00 from the same seller. So, after selling off a few cards and other items on ebay, I had enough money in my paypal account to purchase both cards. When looking at these two great cards side-by-side, it really makes me feel good about my collection of the Shark. I feel like I’ve really acomplished something and that by adding these two cards, along with the base chrome, refractor, x-fractor, and blue parallel, it really puts my collection on the map. I know I don’t have the best Samardzija collection out there, and that’s ok with me, but I do want to have one worth talking about and today I feel as if I’m there. At the start of my blogging career, I mentioned my ultimate dream as a collector was to build this rainbow, I know the superfractor is un-obtainable (It sold for $900 dollars almost a year ago) But now, I just need the infamous red refractor /5 to finish off my ultimate dream.

Here are the two cards that made my day today:

Noe as you can see, the gold one came in a PSA holder. None of my other Samardzija cards are graded, but this one did coem back a mint 9. So what should I do? Should I bust it open and add it to my others or keep it seperate in the holder? There are a couple noticable scratches on the holder, but nothing major. Please leave a comment and tell me what I should do about the PSA holder. Thanks

Responses

  1. awesome! congrats buddy. love finding stuff like that.

  2. Congrats on the purchases. Finding some of those low numbered parallels can be frustrating…I’m still looking for several for my Rey Ordonez player collection.

    As for the PSA case, I say bust it open. The high grade does complicate things a bit, but if you don’t plan on selling the card then open the case and enjoy the card side by side with the rest.

  3. Congrats man, it must be really nice to get two of your most wanted cards in one foul swoop

  4. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  5. Thanks Christian! It means alot to hear positive feedback like this, thanks again

  6. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian,Earn Free Vouchers / Cash


Leave a Reply

Categories

