Posted by: Chris | May 8, 2010

Starlin Castro: Not Another Felix Pie

I know he’s only appeared in one major league game, but from what I’ve seen in minor league games and in spring training, I don’t believe Starlin Castro will turn out to be a bust. When I watched Felix Pie a few years ago in sring training, I told my Dad who was there with me at the time, that this guy isn’t going to be what everyone is hoping for, and sure enough I was correct. But Castro is a completely different story.

Last night, the Cubs called up their top prospect, shortstop Starlin Castro. He set a record for most RBIs in a game by a rookie with 6, passing the previous mark of 5 set by Oakland A’s rookie Ben Greive in 1997. Castro’s hat and jersey were sent to the Hall of Fame last night after the game as well. He will contine to bat 8th for now, but Piniella did say that if he continues to hit, he will move up in the order. From what I’ve seen of Castro, he has a good combination of speed and gap-power, with the ability to knock 15-20 homers in a full season. I see him as a leadoff or number 2 hitter, but will probably settle in in the 5th or 6th hole for this year.

He has good make-up and mechanicts at the plate, and will prove to be pretty solid at shortstop on defense. Hopefully, he brings the same spark to the Cubs as Ike Davis brought to the Mets a week ago. I guess getting swept by the Pirates ment it was time to bring out all the stops to save what’s left of this less-then-stellar season.

As for his cards, if you got em, sell em! The prices on ebay are insane and will never be this high again. If you are looking to buy a few, you won’t get anything less then about $50 dollars, unless you go for a base chrome of his 2009 Bowman rookie. I have a few cards of his that I will of course be keeping, as they are apart of my Cubs PC, but I most certainly will not buy any of them anytime soon.

Responses

  1. I had a bunch of the base chrome of these and sold them last month for about $10 a piece I wish I would have held onto them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

