Posted by: Chris | May 6, 2010

Honest Abe Is Still A Hot Commodity

It’s been over a month since the first Abe Lincoln and Jeff Samardzija short print made its way onto ebay. Since the innitial card sold for $145 dollars, since then, 9 more have appeared on ebay, with the most recent one selling for $81 dollars. While the price has gone down, it hasn’t dropped as much as collectors were expecting it to. When the Bush/Jeter/Mantle card from 2007 Topps hit ebay, it was selling for ridiculous amounts, some exceeding $100 dollars, but after a few weeks the price dropped drastically before setling in at about $20 dollars a card. While I have yet to get my hands on one of these super short printed cards of my favorite player, I have seen one in person and let me just say that it really isn’t as big a thrill to see the card as I was hopeing. When the first Lincoln/Shark cards came out, I was so excited that I was prepared to engage in some serios bidding wars to own one, but now the hype has died down and I have more important Samardzija cards to obtain then one that features an image of a dead president no bigger then the size of potato chip crumb. Don’t get me wrong though, if the opportunity presents itself and it can be had for the right price, I will go for the Lincoln/Shark SP as it is a card I need for my ever-expanding Jeff Samardzija collection.

Leave a Reply

Categories

