Posted by: Chris | April 2, 2010

I’m Back!

Ok, so i’m not black, but I am tanner, if that counts for anything!

The trip was pretty awesome. We went to a ton of games, we saw the Cubs 3 times, the Angels once, and the D-backs once. We also went to Fitch park a couple times and got to scout the Cubs minor leaguers and see who will be the future Felix Pie’s and Corey Patterson’s. We watched Starlin Castro for awhile and it looks like he might be the real deal. He’s got a short quick swing and can hit the ball to any part of the field. His only flaw is that he has a tendency to lean into his swing a little to much, which might cause a high strike-out rate. On defense he was pretty solid, but I feel like he may move over to second base or even third in the long-run.We also watched Cubs’ number obne draft pick last year, Brett Jackson take some swings and boy can does he have power!. He absolutely crushes the ball and his swing is very similair to Adam Dunn’s, fortunetley, his defense is 10 times better then Dunn’s.

One thing I also enjoyed about spring training is how close you can get to some of the players! They were so easy to walk up and talk to, and even though I really didn’t plan on getting any autographs, I ended up with a ton! (scans coming in a little while) Unfortunetly, Jeff Samardzija was nowhere to be found. He pitched in the 6th and 7th innings that we saw and left right afterwards so I didn’t get a chance to talk to him. But the players I did get to meet more then make up for it! I got some HOFer autographs and some of the cubs most popular player’s, as well as a couple from the other teams, I’m hoping to have all that posted later tonight so stay tuned.

We also hit up a couple of card shops, and unlike Illinois, their were 5-6 card shops that were all very close by, which was awesome. I didn’t buy anything major, but I did pick up a few Nomar cards and some supplies that were ridiculously cheap. My friend did buy something amazing though….he bought a Johnny Bench rookie card for $50 dollars, when the guy had it marked at $95 dollars, which he was happy to have gotten for such a good price. The condition was excellent too when I got to look at it, probably worthy of a 7 or 8 if graded.

Overall this was a great trip and it couldn’t have come at a better time, I’m glad to have had a week of nothing but baseball and guy-time for a couple of days.I really had alot of fun at spring training and can’t wait to go back next year.

Pictures and scans coming soon!

Responses

  1. Nice! Sounds like a great trip!

  2. Sounds awesome man!

  3. Thanks guys! This was my favorite vacation I’ve ever taken amd i’ll probably be posting about it a few more times this weekend


Leave a Reply

Categories

