Posted by: Chris | March 20, 2010

A Day At The Card Show

So today I helped a very good friend of mine out today at the card show in Rosemont at the Donald E. Stephens convention center. He had a table their and told me he was going to be short-handed for the day and wanted to know if I would be able to pitch in. Of course I agreed and I showed up bright and early this morning for work.

I had a really fun day and might go back tomorrow as well. My friend had some really great stuff as always, and was wheeling and dealing almost everytime I looked at him. He bought a huge box of almost a thousand  autographs from a guy for close to $10,000 so I had tons of fun sorting those out for a couple of hours. Thier were some great cards in their and some even greater autos! My personal favorites were a 1952 Topps Duke Snider, A 1991 UD Andre Dawson, and a 1966 Billy Williams. I also managed to sell some stuff and made close to $100 dollars, so I will be hitting up ebay tonight!

I had so much fun today, I was able to sit and discuss cards with other collectors, got to see some amazing and truly unique cards other people had, and I even made some money, all while spending time with a great friend of mine.

I really didn’t have much time to walk around and look at what other people were selling, but I did get to check out some tables and, Like I promised, I bought some wax for the first time in 2010. I purchased a box of 2008 Topps Chrome that I will be breaking and reviewing, hopefully by tomorrow so be sure to look for that.

And to top everything else off, my friend found this for me, which I desperirately needed:

Responses

  1. Cool, I always enjoy card shows, sounds like that was a good one.

  2. Wow, sounds like a good day, and 10,000 dollars? that must be alot of autos he got!


Leave a Reply

Categories

