Posted by: Chris | March 17, 2010

I’m Sick And Tired Of This

No not with blogging or collecting, but dealing with idiots. I know that it’s a huge part of this hobby and I know that people will always be idiots, just check out my ridiculous ebay auctions post if you need re-assurance on that statement. But I am just fed up with how people value their cards.

A few months ago, I went to a card show and saw a seller who had a 2007 Bowman DPP Samardzija orange refractor and gold refractor. I’ve seen the gold on ebay several times but have never seen the orange version. The gold consistently sells on ebay for 50-60 dollars, even if they’re graded. Both of these perticular cards were indeed graded by Beckett and when I asked the seller how much for the gold he said it was $300 dollars. When I asked him why it was so much he responded “Because it was graded a 9 which is almost inpossible to get.” I didn’t have the time or patience to tell him that grading a card like this didn’t mean shit and I’ve never seen a Beckett graded card that graded out less then a 9 so I  don’t know what he was smoking. I didn’t even bother to ask about the orange because I knew it would be a ridiculous price.

People like that seller make me very mad because they have amazing cards that real collectors like me would do anything to own, yet they charge outragous prices becuase they think they know everything about what cards are worth becuse they picked up the latest copy of Beckett magazine, when really they don’t know shit about cards and they’ll never manage to sell it.

The reason I am writing about this is because last night I was in trade negotiations with a guy who had two Nomar patch cards I wanted. He said he was interested in Ken Griffey Jr. and I mentioned that I had an auto of his that I could part with for the two Nomar’s and another Cubs auto. He then responded and said that that trade would be stupid because “according to beckett, one of the patches is worth 25 and the other 80, while the Griff is only worth 40” I actually burst out laughing when I read that. Their is no way in hell someone would pay $80 dollars for a patch of anyone! Babe Ruth perhaps but not Nomar Garciaparra! I’ve never seen a Nomar patch crack $30 dollars so this guy is nuts for thinking they are worth so much money.

Now, I really wanted both those Nomar patches, but unfortunetly, becuase of this idiot, I will not be owning either of them because he thinks that two patches of some washed up shortstop are worth more then an AUTOGRAPH of one of the most popular players from the last two decades. If anyone agress with the other guy on this one, please oh please, let me know.

It’s not even worth my time and effort to write back and explain that book value means absolutely nothing, and real collectors go by ebay value, AKA what someone is willign to pay for a given card, not what someone says a card is worth.

Where’s Mario or Gellman when you need them?

Responses

  1. Wow, that is crazy. While I am sure there are a few Red Sox fans out there still willing to pay top dollar for Nomar, basically any baseball fan would be willing to pay top dollar for Griffey. As you say, that is besides the fact that autos are always harder to come by than patches.

    You are totally right on this. I think some people, though, put an inordinate amount of emphasis on the run of cards. I personally am just as happy with a card run to 250 as one run to 50 if the basic card design and patches are exactly the same. I’m not sure if I’m alone in this, but I don’t NEED the lower run card just because it is lower. Now if there is some extra design feature, like a patch and auto it is fine, but a lousy number on the card isn’t enough for me to dole out the sometimes crazy extra money.

    I won’t even get into the grading of contemporary cards issue.

  2. Lame. Lame, lame, lame.

    If I could scratch up enough Nomars to get that Griffey I’d do it in a second.

    Beckett value.

    Why don’t we pick one blogger, and tag his/her last name as a “Price Guide” and see if it catches on.

  3. ok, one word. Idiot.

  4. I’d be all over that Grif if I had the right stuff to offer for it.

  5. Wow Chris, haha. I am in total agreement with you man. The guy you are talking about is clearly one of those people that looks at everything and says ‘That is going to be worth something one day…’ It’s only worth what another person is willing to pay for it. I have been able to get my Brooks Robinson patches off of Ebay for between $8.00 and $25.00, so if Brooks can be had for that much, surely Nomar can be had for $4.00-$14.00…

  6. William, got your email, good luck

    Its nice to know im not alone on this subject. I know from reading wax heaven for so long that book value means crap…I just can’t figure out an effective way to get everyone else to follow along…its like trying to find a cure for cancer or something

  7. You have what I want, I have what you want, a trade occurs.
    F-ing Beckett and their stupid prices.
    Check out how much they say a complete set (1-200 base) of08 Goudey is worth. Then try to get that on eBay, go ahead, try. LOL.

  8. It’s got to be the worst for set collectors. I’ve seen what beckett prices completed sets at, its absolutley ridiculous. As much as Beckett screws over team/player collectors with their screwed up prices, they price sets at 2-300% more then the going rate on say, ebay for example…its nuts

    Someone really has to put a stop to beckett, blogs like waxheaven and SCU and VOTC are good, but their not enough sometimes…

  9. I’ve got nothing to add but @$#$. That’s nuts.

  10. see i need to kno how much a gold brooks robison card is worth


Leave a Reply

Categories

