Posted by: Chris | March 10, 2010

This Is A Bitter-Sweet Day For Me

In case you haven’t already heard, my all time favorite player and idol, Nomar Garciaparra has officially announced his retirement today. He signed a one day contract with the Boston Red sox, so he could come full circle and finish his career the right way. Nomar will now be serving as an anylist for ESPN and possibly doing some PR work for the Red Sox, but that has not been confirmed yet.

As a huge nomar fan and collector, I am still undecided as to how I feel about today. On one hand, Nomar is done trying to prove he still has something left in the tank and he doesn’t have to keep bringing down his amazing career numbers. He also doesn’t have to keep bouncing around and signing one year deals with team after team, i.e. the Kenny Lofton strategy. But on the other hand, I will no longer be able to watch my favorite player go up to bat and hit home runs or take his position and field ground balls. I will no longer see his name in the line-ups or on the bottom of my TV with his stats from the night before. I will no longer have the option of drafting him for my fantasy team, something I have tried to do ever since I started to play fantasy baseball a few years ago. I will no longer be able to plan road trips with my friends to go out and see Nomar’s team play.

But their is something I will be able to do that I couldn’t before, I can appreciate all the amazing things he did over his career. Sure I could’ve done that before, but it wouldn’t be the same. It’s like writing the last chapter of a book, now you can go back and look at everything that has happened.

I have never dealt with a favorite player of mine retiring. I wasn’t alive to see Roger Maris retire, and Dan Haren and Jeff Samardzija are still playing, so I guess i’m still now sure what to make of all this. Only time will tell.

In honor of Nomar’s great career, I have decided to make a short timeline of his baseball years:

1992-Team USA

1996-2004- Boston Red Sox

2004-2005-Chicago Cubs

2006-2008-LA Dodgers

 

2009- Oakland Athletics

Nomar Garciaparra will always be the greatest player in the world to me.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

