Posted by: Chris | February 24, 2010

Lookin To Bust Some Wax

While watching some youtube breaks the other day, I decided that it has been so long since I’ve busted any boxes that I’d go ahead and buy something fun to open. I am not in a position to purchase any Sterling or Triple Threads, but I’m looking for something cheap that will give me a lot of quality cards and the chance for a nice hit. I came a up with a few options and put them into a  poll for you guys to help me decide. My first choice would be a hobby box of 2010 Topps Series one, as their are tons of nice cards in these as well as the million card giveaways. But I’d be open to other boxes as well, another one that is at the top of my list is 2008 UDX. I really love this set and am trying to complete the autograph checklist so that could be an option for me as well.

Vote in the pole to help me out and if anyone can give me some prices, that would be a big help!

Responses

  1. I really like Topps Chrome. I busted a box of 2009 Topps Chrome and loved it. I got a refractor auto of Andrew Bailey, a regular rookie auto of Jordan Zimmerman, 3 blue refractors/199 and a gold refractor/50. I’d say either 2008 or 2009 Topps chrome is the way to go!

  2. These are very different price ranges that you’re looking at. UDX is definitely cheap. I would choose Sweet Spot Classic over Sweet Spot. I would go with ’09 Chrome over ’08 Chrome just because of design and ’09 Finest over ’08 Finest because there’s a refractor per pack.

    I don’t know. Depends how much you want to spend and what you’re looking for.

    My order from your list (price no object): 2007 Sweet Spot Classic, 2009 Topps Series 1, 2010 Topps Series 1, 2008 Topps Chrome, 2009 UDX, 2008 Finest, 2008 UDX (2008 UDX has a lot of quality control problems with the diecuts)

    I’m not sure if my opinion was helpful

  3. I would go with 09 Topps Chrome myself but you dont have that as a choice. I am a fan of the chromes and Topps were nice in 09. I also recomend the 2010 Topps but would go with a jumbo box. With the jumbo boxes you get 500 cards as opposed to the 360 in a hobby box. Also you get 3 hits, more inserts and more gold parallels. I did a box of them and posted the results on my blog if you want to get a better idea.

  4. I would deffinitly be open to 09 chrome which is probably higher up on the list then 08 because of all the parallels

    How much does a box of Topps Jumbo cost? Maybe I’ll get one of those as they sound pretty nice


Leave a Reply

Categories

