Posted by: Chris | February 7, 2010

Battle Of The 2010 Flagships

Now that I have acquired both the 2010 Topps and Upper Deck flagship card of Jeff Samardzija, I thought I would match them up, head to head, and see which company produced the better flagship design for Jeff Samardzija fans like me. Here are scans of both cards:

Topps is on top (no pun intended)

And UD is on the bottom

I want to know from you guys which one you think looks the best. You can vote below or leave a comment with your reasoning.

My choice would be Topps. I feel the UD card is a step down from last years and it has nothing to do with the loss of logos because I really couldn’t care less about it. I just feel the Topps version has more eye apeal, as UD is kinda plain and boring.

Responses

  1. I love Topps, however, I like the UD offering this year. It is sharp. Hard to pick a winner though… I will reserve judgment until I see the 2010 Topps Brian Roberts 😉

  2. I haven’t felt much enthusiasm for an Upper Deck base set since the early 1990s. Some of the inserts look cool, but the base cards are boring.

    Topps made a few odd photo choices, but on the whole it’s a nice set.

  3. I like some color in card design. One of the reasons why I stepped out of collecting for a few years is because the cards were getting boring. Gold foil and borderless cards don’t do a lot for me. I voted for Topps.

  4. I have to say UD – the topps design in terrible – takes up too much of the card – I have always like full bleed with the focus on the photo – just slap the name on the bottom – – now last year – i preferred the clean border that Topps chose, this year just looks like something a 10 year old designed


Leave a Reply

Categories

