Posted by: Chris | January 16, 2010

Cubs Convention Results

As many of you already know, I attended the Cubs Convention today and man did I have fun! We left here at about 7:45 this morning and have been going non-stop all day. The main reason for getting up so early was because my favorite Cubs player, Jeff Samardzija, was going to be signing autographs at 10:00 and I wanted to be sure to get in line for him. Turns out no one drives on Saturday mornings (go figure) so we managed to arrive in the convention area at about 9:10. Pretty good considering it usually takes us 2 hours to get to Wrigley Field from here, which isn’t too far away from were the convention center was located. We got in line in plenty of time and, unlike last year were we cut it pretty close, were one of the first people to get Jeff’s autograph. I was with my friend and I had him sign a Notre Dame mini helmet for me, in exchange for standing in line with him and giving up my Bobby Dernier autograph. As for myself, I got the following card signed…

This is a 2008 Tristar card I picked up awhile back. It’s numbered out of 25 so I fugred it would be a good card to get signed.

After our autograph hunt, we checked out the place and it was a lot of fun. I got to see the fan Q&A with players like Ryan Dempster, Geovany Soto, Jody Davis, and Sam Fuld, something I didn’t do last year. I also visited the new “Cubs corner” which was like a mini Cubs HOF, it had lockers full of stuff from players like Ernie Banks, Ryne Sandberg, and newest HOF member, Andre Dawson. They also had some old tobacco cards and ticket stubs in display cases which was really cool.

I also hit up the vendor booths and checked out the baseball cards. I picked up this card for only a dollar:

This is a 2005 UD All-Star Classics card of Nomar Garciaparra. I don’t really get the point of this set as Nomar wasn’t an All-Star in 05, but no matter, a Nomar I don’t have is always a welcome addition to my collection.

I also visited the Cubs minor league affilite booths, and bought a AAA Iowa team set because of the card on top,

Sweet! A nice looking Samardzija card. This day just keeps getting better and better.

Another thing I love about the Cubs convention is that throughout the whole day they have a auction going on of Cubs game used stuff like jerseys, pants, bats, helmets, hats, etc. And all the proceeds ogo to Cubs Care, the cubs charity for kids. I love to go there and see what they have for auction and maybe bid on something if I like it since all of it goes to charity. Well, as it turns out, a couple of minutes after I arrive, they auction off a Jeff Samardzija game worn hat. I knew I had to own it. It had sweat marks on the brim for God sakes! I got in an intense bidding war, the likes of which no one as ever witnessed. Back and forth we went until the other guy dropped out at $45 dollars, making me the winner! If my camera had any battery power left, I would’ve taken a picture to show you guys.

All in all, this was one of the greatest days of my life. I got to see a bunch of my favorite players, got 2 autographs of my favorite current Cub, and gave some money to charity.

Can’t wait till next year’s convention!

Responses

  1. I woulda woke up early too… didn’t hear about it

  2. Sounds like a nice time. I wish all the times did something like this. 🙂

  3. Awesome the Yankees used to do something like this back in the 90’s.

  4. I hope Jeff makes it in the Bigs

  5. Derek-Me Too

    Mr. Scott- they don’t have any kind of convention or fanfest? that sucks. I wasn’t sure if all teams did it or not I no the white sox and Marlins do, I’m not sure aotu any other teams though

    People were spending money there like crazy. If the cubs kept all those proceeds, there payroll would be bigger then the yankees and Red sox combined. People were paying 140 buck for a greg maddux signed photo and a pair of mike fontenot pants sold for $80 dollars. It was nuts


Leave a Reply

Categories

