Posted by: Chris | January 5, 2010

Hall Of Fame Ballot Part 3

Tomorrow, the 2010 hall of fame inductees will be announced. This will be the third and final part of my hall of fame review. Here’s the list for anyone interested:

Roberto Alomar
Harold Baines
Bert Blyleven
Andre Dawson
Andres Galarraga
Barry Larkin
Edgar Martinez
Don Mattingly
Fred McGriff
Mark McGwire
Jack Morris
Dale Murphy
Dave Parker
Tim Raines
Lee Smith
Alan Trammell

Jack Morris-I really like this guy. I think he was a very dominant pitcher and was quite good. He had solid numbers and played for good teams. However, if Jakc Morris was to get inducted into the hall of fame, he would have the highest ERA in their with 3.90. He didn’t have 300 wins or 3,000 strike out either. Will he get in? tough call, but I say no. He, along iwth Andres Galarraga, are the very deffinition of boarderline. It really could go either way though, but my call is no.

Dale Murphy-Dale was a huge fan favorite and a tremendous player. He could do it all back i nthe day. I like him and think he was dominant for a long period of time. However, his number’s just don’t pop out and say Hall of Fame to me. He’ll deffinitly stick around on the ballot for awhile, and maybe even come incredibly close a couple times, but the call is no.

Dave Parker- Dave was a huge threat i nthe batter’s box. He could crush pitches and really knew how to play the game. Although is lack of support and fact that he played in Pittsburgh is probably the reason he doesn’t get in. Again, I’m going to have to say no to this great slugger.

Tim Raines- Tim was an incredible lead-off man. One of the best the game has ever seen. Probably second to Rickey Henderson, who is in the Hall as of 2009. He was dominant his whole career, a big threat on the bases, and handled the bat with incredible talent. So, does he get in? Yes. Will it be this year? As much as I want to see him get in ASAP, I have to believe it will take him a couple of years, maybe as much four or five year.

Lee Smith- Ok, let me just start my saying that if Bruce Sutter, Goose Gossage, and Dennis Eckersley are in the Hall, then how on earth is Lee Smith not? I just don’t get this one, he was incredibly talented, dominated whenever he came in to close out a game, and until recently, had the most saves in history. Does he get in? He should already be in! I swear, the panel is tainted, I fail to understnad how guys like Dawson, Smith, and Blylevin are left out of the Hall, while guys like Jim Rice and Bruce Sutter are already polishing their placks inside the hall.

Alan Trammell- As great as Tram was, and how popular he became in Detroit, he just doesn’t stack up to some of these other guys. He was pretty damn good, don’t get me wrong, but he just isn’t there. I like to compare him to Don Mattingly, really good, solid on both offense and defense, fanb favorites, but just a shade under the hall of fame level.

Those are my opinions on all the possible inductees. My final take on who gets in tomorrow: Andre Dawson, Bert Blylevin, and Lee Smith with the possibility of Tim Raines and Roberto Alomar. Good luck to all of those who are eligible for entry into immortality and legendary status!

Leave a Reply

Categories

