Posted by: Chris | December 31, 2009

Top 10 Best Pulls Of 2009

With the year coming to a close, I figured this would be a good time to post my 10 best pulls of 2009. Now, keep in mind, I didn’t buy nearly as much wax this year as I did last year. Odds are none of this years ten would’ve even made it on last years list. But, because this is the end of 2009 and not 2008, you guys are stuck with my best pulls of this year. Try to enjoy!

10) Bucky Dent  jersey-buyback

I got this card out of a box of 2008 Upper Deck Series 2 I bought towards the beginning of the year. I puled this card and a Jordy Mercer Team USA relic out of the same pack. This was my first buyback ever, so that is why it makes the list.

9) Lou Gehrig manufactured patch

I pulled this card out of a blaster box of 2009 Topps Series 1. I really liked this card because of two reasons, 1) I got a legendary player with a commemorative patch of his home stadium, and 2) I had just watched the movie Pride Of The Yankees before I pulled this, which for those of you who haven’t seen the movie, is about the life of Lou Gehrig and his playing days. That movie just made this card that more special.

8 ) 2006 UD Josh Johnson rookie auto

I pulled this card out of a hobby box of 2006 UD Future Stars. I got some really nice hits out of that box and this was one of them. Johnson really had a good year in 09, and will only get better.

7) Greg Maddux game used pants

I pulled this card out of a box of 2002 Upper Deck I bought on ebay. I only ended up paying $12 dollars for the box so it was well worth it. The stated odds were one hit per box but I ended up pulling two, this card, and a Sammy Sosa relic, not bad for a Cubs fan huh? The best part of this card is that the game used pants on this card are from his Cubs uniform, which is awesome.

6) 2006 Adam Wainwright rookie auto

I pulled this card out of the same box of 2006 UD Future Stars. I really enjoyed busting this product. This Wainwright card was probably the hit of the box. It was a redemption, but surprisingly didn’t take me 4 years to recieve it. Wainwright had a huge breakout year and finished 3rd in Cy Young voting so hopefully he continues to get better.

5) 2007 Josh Hamilton rookie auto

You guys already saw my revue on this box when I pulled this card. I really enjoyed this product and it was lots of fun and incredibly cheap. This is my second Hamilton rookie auto, the other oen being a helmet auto from 2007 Sweet Spot. I really hope his 2010 year is a lot like his 2008 year as he was easily the best player in the AL that year.

4) 2008 Blue Jays triple game used

I pulled this card out of a pack of 2008 SPX I bought at a card shop. For some reason, I did really well with packs of SPX I bought their. The last time I was their I bought 2 packs and I pulled a Jim Thome dual patch (Box hit) and a Ken Griffey Jr. 1/1 (Case hit) So I figured another pack wouldn’t hurt and I pulled this. It’s a tripe jersey of Vernon Wells, A.J. Burnett, and Roy Halladay, even though only Wells is still a Jay, this is still one of the coolest cards I’ve pulled.

3) Robin Roberts auto

This was my most recent pull which I showed you guys after Christmas. I got this out of a pack my friend bought me that was gaurenteed one auto or cut auto. I was glad I got an auto of an awesome HOFer, and he even played for the Cubs. Doesn’t get much better then that.

2) Willie McCovey game used pants

Another card you guys saw me pull. I got this card, surprisingly, out of one of those $5 dollar boxes with a few packs and a gaurenteed game used card. I had bought these before and figured I would get another Bernie Williams or Jorge Cantu relic, never did I think I’d pull a relic of Willie McCovey.

1) Johan Santana auto and jersey

It was a tough choice between 1 and 2 put ultimatley I picked this Johan Santana card as number 1. I pulled this card out of one of my many boxes of 2007 UD Elements. I used to be addicted to Elements. I was always dreaming of pulling a sick hit like a Ripken or Jeter but Santana was the best I could do. I really like like card and nearly pissed my pants when I pulled it. Johan has a really nice signature, somethign you don’t see now a days with young athletes. I hope he rebounds with the Mets and returns to his former, Cy Young self.

Those are my best pulls of 2009. Not too bad considering I didn’t buy much wax this year. I hope you guys enjoyed and have a happy New Year!

Responses

  1. Oh nice cards. Especially that Santana. His auto’s are pretty rare and expensive from what I see around.

  2. WOW! I dont think I pulled anything close to those this year! You picked a good #1, but 2 and 3 are pretty awesome, too!

  3. Thanks guys! Its too bad I wasn’t blogging in 2008, I had some AMAZING pulls from that year because I spent probably around $1,000 dollars on wax alone.


Leave a Reply

Categories

