Posted by: Chris | November 19, 2009

Lincecum Repeats as Cy Young Winner

Today, the 2009 NL Cy Young Award winner was announced. Tim Lincecum beat out Chris Carpenter and Adam Wainright for the award. Lincecum, despite having fewer wins then last year, improved in every other catagory. He finished with a record of 15-7, 2.48 ERA and 261 strike outs. Here were the final results:

NL Cy Young Award Voting
Player 1st 2nd 3rd Pts.
Tim Lincecum, SF 11 12 9 100
Chris Carpenter, STL 9 14 7 94
Adam Wainwright, STL 12 5 15 90
Javier Vazquez, ATL   1   3
Dan Haren, ARI     1 1
Nice to see Dan Haren come in 5th but who in their right mind voted Javier Vazquez for 2nd?
If your looking to pick up some of Tim’s cards his nicest rookie is his 2007 Bowman Chrome auto but it will cost you an arm and a leg. If your looking for a cheaper rookie however, consider purchasing his 2007 Upper Deck short print rookie card. (pictured below.) The card is number 918 in the set and quit underrated, despite beign a short printed card. Lincecum is probably your best investment out of all the 2009 award winners. He’s still young ( no pun intended) and already has back-to-back Cy Young Awards.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: