Posted by: Chris | November 9, 2009

Rare Treasures at the Flea Market

I love the flea market. It’s a great place to pick up cards for cheap and even find hidden treasures. For a collector, the flea market is a great place to go to look for cards much needed for their collections. There is a flea market that I go to about 5 minutes away from where I live the first weekend of every month. There are usually 3-4 baseball card dealers that are their every month and some who sell a couple cards along with other stuff. These people usually don’t have anything but late 80’s early 90’s junk cards. One day in July I decided to look through a small box of cards marked “1 dollar each” and to my surprise found this little gem:

kerry wood crusade

 It was a 1998 Donruss Crusade green parallel. Donruss Crusade is without a doubt the greatest insert set of the 90’s and possibly ever. It features 3 parallels, green (numbered to 250) purple (numbered to 100) and the rarest of all, red (numbered to 25.) The cards look so much more beautiful in person and feature an almost xfractor-like technology that looks really good. These cards sell for a lot more than one dollar and the fact that I got a Chicago Cub made it even more special. A find like this may only come once in a lifetime for a collector like me, but I’m still enjoying the fact that I found this for only a dollar!

So, what’s your great flea market find?

Responses

  1. At the time, a 1992 Topps Gold Brien Taylor RC for $1. I thought I hit paydirt…til he was in the bar fight.

  2. I invested in Brien Taylor too. Except I traded a whole bunch of cards to my friend for one of his RCs. i should see if I still have that Brien Taylor card..

  3. I still have my 1992 Topps Gold auto of him. It was given to me by another collector. It’s funny, that card was my white whale when I first started collecting and once I received it, I felt a sense of completion even though he bombed out in the game.

  4. […] And finally, The last card I bought, which is probably the best card I’ve picked up since this one……. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

